Honouring the Tom Longboat Legacy

Tom Longboat was one of the most celebrated and accomplished athletes in Canadian history. A member of the Onondaga Nation who resided in Six Nations of the Grand River, Tom Longboat was one of the most gifted long distance runners of his time. In just his third competitive race, he set the world record for the marathon, smashing the previous mark by over five and half minutes. In the years prior to the First World War, Tom Longboat won most of the major distance races in North America and Europe, including the Boston Marathon and the Powderhall Marathon in Edinburgh, Scotland. At a time when indoor marathon running attracted sell-out crowds, he was the world’s professional champion. At one point or another, he held every Canadian record from one mile to the marathon.

Throughout his life, Tom Longboat spoke proudly of his First Nations heritage and held his head high in times of great adversity. He was the headline attraction wherever he raced, drawing huge crowds and a widespread following. In 1999, Maclean’s Magazine voted him the #1 Canadian sports figure of the twentieth century.

Established in 1951, the Tom Longboat Award serves as a proud national symbol for all Aboriginal peoples in Canada. - Contributed by Dr. Bruce Kidd, Olympian & Tom Longboat Historian

The Awards 
Once a year, the Aboriginal Sport Circle recognizes the achievements of gifted Aboriginal athletes by selecting the top male and female Aboriginal athlete from New Brunswick. These regional recipients automatically advance as nominees for the prestigious National Award that is presented to the most outstanding male and female Aboriginal Athlete in Canada.
2010 – Lucas Ward, Metepenagiag, Baseball
2009 – Trey Lewis, Elsipogtog, Hockey and Dakota Bernard, Fredericton, Hockey
2007 – Josh Sacobie, St. Mary’s First Nation, Football
2004 – Nathan Francis, Eel Ground First Nation, Hockey
2003 – Dusty Levi, Elsipogtog, Hockey
2002 – Josh Hepditch, Listuguj, Hockey
2001 – Nicholas Sark, Oromocto, Volleyball
2000 – Joey LaBillois, Eel River Bar First Nation, Boxing
2010 – Ashley Knockwood, Fort Folly First Nation, Target Shooting
2009 – Lucy Francis, Elsipogtog, Hockey
2004 – Kaylea Germaine, Fredericton, Athletics
2003 – Chastity LaBillois, Eel River Bar First Nation, Hockey
2002 – Kelsey Legacy, Dalhousie, Boxing
2001 – Tia Perley, Tobique, Golf
2000 – Cara LaBillois, Eel River Bar First Nation, Hockey